Advice on preparing for a half for a begineer that is not a couch potato!

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner who is going to run a half in October. My ambitions are pretty modest: I want to run it as fast as I can but I don't care how that compares to anyone else's times. So long as I run it the whole way without "hitting the wall" I'll be relatively pleased. And if I enjoy it enough I'll look to up the challenge next time.

There's a local 5k that I am going to run weekly once I am fit enough - which I hope will be about 6 weeks - and I am hoping to be up to substituting a 5k for a 10k once a month from about June.

I've got plenty of time to prepare but I don't want the programme to be too easy otherwise I know I will lose motivation. I enjoy exercise more when I'm challenged. I'm not very fit but I do walk quite a lot and I am lucky enough to carry very little weight so a programme that only has you run for a minute and then walk is too soft a start for me.

I went out for a benchmarking run this afternoon just to assess my baseline. I wanted to find out - by running at a comfortable but tiring pace:

How far I could run before I needed a recovery walk (turns out to be about a mile) and how fast I can run it in (about 8 mins).

How far I could run on a second run after a minute's walk (about 0.3 miles) and how fast (about 2.5 mins).

Whether I could run a 3rd spell reasonably comfortably after a bit of a walk (I couldn't!).

How my legs, ankles and feet felt (I'll know that tomorrow!).