How much should I be spending on running shoes

I've been running for about 6 months and for most of that I was running round the trails of the local reservoir and have a pair of trail running shoes. However, as the days are now dark when I get home from work and the weather's been horrible I've taken to running road so I'm thinking of investing in a proper pair of road running shoes. I'll need to get my running analysed at my local shop and was thinking about getting a pair of shoes which they recommed. Looking at various websites it seems shoes vary greatly in price. I'm currently running about 5k 3-4 times a week after work and upto 10k once a week.

Can anyone advise on aproximately how much I'd be looking at spending for a decent pair of shoes.

Comments

• Hi and welcome image

I tend to average around £70 for a pair of running shoes, that is the price of the one or two different styles that I found have suited me best and offered the cushioning etc I need.  It does vary wildly and I think it will depend on your technique, how heavy a runner you are (that doesn't mean weight necessarily either), if your technique is good and you're light on your feet and don't hammer down on your heels etc you might be able to get the cheaper shoes.  I try to go for the sale ones and get the previous season ones in the sales if I can. If you have small feet you have a much better chance of getting really cheap shoes as well image

hugely expensive isn't always best so be wary of them trying to push really hugely expensive top wack shoes image

• Thanks for the advice. I'm planning a trip to Sweatshop in Manchester tomorrow. Somehow I don't think I've got very good technique and I also have pretty big feet (ladies size 7-8s). I have no problem wearing the previous seasons. I'm all for saving money by buying last years stock!!!