Resting Heart Rate and Speed

I took my Resting Heart Rate (RHR) yesterday, I got 57. I think this just about puts me slightly better than average but not by a lot. If I raced tomorrow I would probably achieve around 19:00 for 5k, 39:30 for 10k and 1:30:00 for a half.

I'm just after a sample of other runners data to see how their RHR and race times correlate as I'm starting some specific HR training to improve my RHR.

Thanks in advance for any contributions! image

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

You forgot to mention your age, which will be a contributing factor.  I'm no expert in this stuff, but I thought your RHR was based on a number of factors with some that are changeable (e.g. fitness level) and some that are fixed (e.g. genetics)?  what specific training are you doing to reduce your RHR? I always thought it was a lower RHR was a good sign - but the actual values between individuals were irrelevant?

I dd google it and found this web site, with some very comical responses!

http://www.topendsports.com/testing/heart-rate-resting-chart.htm

• I dont think there will be any correlation  - or there would be some chart that you could use to show your estimated race time just off your RHR. 

• I am 27, I'm hoping to see if my times drop along with my RHR and by how much. I agree there wont be a direct link, but a general ballpark could be useful just to see how I compare with other of varying ability. If I know people with a similar RHR are achieving better times than me, I will know its not aerobic strength holding me back - if that makes sense.

I'm trying to reduce it with aerobic pace running 70-80%, 2-3 times a week with a long run (12-15miles) thrown in. RHR is influenced by genetics but can be improved by training but surely that goes for all running, some are born better than others but if they don't train they can still lose to a runner that is genetically inferior.

Anybody else willing to share?

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭