I Am Ridiculously Unfit (Stamina Wise) - How Can I Increase It By Running?

I am a 25 year old male.

I have been bodybuilding since I was 15 years old.  I weigh 14 stone (196lbs/89kg) and my height is 5 foot 11 inches.

I weight train 5x per week in the gym, and one thing I was very self conscious about over the years is my terrible stamina level.  Unfortunately I have never really added any form of cardio into my routine, and I feel that may be partly why I am so unfit, even though I weight train 5x a week.

I have now made an effort to try & build my stamina up.  I have no desire to lose any weight/fat although if this comes with running I'm not going to complain.  But for now, my MAIN goal is to increase my stamina as much as I can.

To give you an idea of my current fitness level...

I bought a pair of decent/reputable running trainers & went for a run today for the first time in several years, having never really run seriously at all in the past.  I had planned on running for at least 10 minutes without stopping, as I felt this was a realistic first goal to reach.  I was extremely disappointed & let down with myself when I began running and had to stop 25 seconds later due to running out of breath.

It wasn't just a case of having to stop for several seconds and then restart again, I just felt COMPLETELY wrecked stamina wise.  I'm sure you can understand how this felt for me, considering I've been in the gym for 10 years straight weight training, yet never really knew how unfit I was.

I just now feel very self conscious due to the fact that I've seen people in their mid 60s who are semi overweight, running around my local park without having to stop even once, yet I'm a 25 year old lad who has been weight training seriously for 10 years, and has to stop running after just 20 seconds or so due to running out of breath.