The first few miles...

Hello folks!

After some advice. Don't know if this is in the right forum mind.

I've been running fairly regularly for about 18 months now. Have done a couple of half marathons. I love it, but wouldn't consider myself a "natural" (spent most of my life avoiding it).

Now here's the issue; when I'm out running (normally doing somewhere around 6 - 8 miles on a weekend, 4 or 5 a few times in the week) the first 2.5, 3 miles seem like hard work. Once I get near to 3 miles, I seem to hit my stride, and feel like I can go on for ever. Obviously I couldn't, but certainly it doesn't feel any more difficult doing 8 miles than it does 4.

So my question is; how can I make the first 3 miles easier? Is it impossible? Is it to do with warming up?

Comments

• JeremyGJeremyG ✭✭✭
    Yes it's to do with warming up. I get the same - for training runs I just grit the teeth and get on with it. Races shorter than HM I have to warm up otherwise I would lose too much time.
  • Wondered if it was psychological! So I'll just have to man up and get on with it then image

• I tend to find if prepping for a 'normal' run, say 5/6 miles steady, if I just get a glass of water and do some simple stretches in front of the news for 15/20 mins, it helps me get into the run a bit quicker. If I'm pressed for time and just suit up and go, I experience problems akin to yours, feeling sluggish and only hitting the mark halfway around. So yeah, warm up!

• Talking to others I think it is very common for the first 3 miles to be a slog then as you say you just hit your stride and your legs go into auto pilot. I've never found anything helps except knowing it will go and just getting through it (character building distance running).
  • I'd go as far as saying that every long run I start I spend the first 20mins convinced Im not going to finish. Yet most of the time I do! Think it's just the nature of the beast. Warm up and listen to good tunes at the start.