Just A Little Bit Further 2013

Comments

• woohooooo louise !!!! well done hun!!!

• here's the very long version - I've never done one of these before.  Well, I s'pose it was a long race...

As you know, during the run up to the marathon I had a minor injury – peroneal tendinitis – from ramping up my distance a bit too quickly.  Because it was just 4 weeks from race day I really thought I’d blown my chances of running, but because I am rather prone to chronic tendinitis I wanted to make sure I treated it early and avoided  any long-term problems if possible.  So, lots of ice and physiotherapy, and sets of calf, hamstring and peroneal strengthening work.  Complete rest from running for 10 days (I did a bit of cycling and weights work to maintain some fitness), then some trial runs – 2k, 4k, 9k, 18k…despite a few niggles, everything seemed ok so I decided to go for it, although I had rather reduced my time targets from an ambitious 4h35 down to 5 hours.  Main objective was to finish without further injury.

Had a quiet leadup, with the only exercise in three days before being a 3k walk!  Sensible eating, early nights, and an early start on a cool and misty Friday morning.  Roads were closed, so I parked about 1.5k from the start and walked in along with many of the other runners.  There were a 3k fun run, and 10k race, along with wheelchair 10/marathon events, with a total of around 20 000 participants – 2000 of which were marathon runners.  The start was quite lively, with inevitable queues for loos image