Totally new? The 2013 new runners thread.

Comments

• Welcome Cat boy!  are you following a programme or just giving it a go?  I only ask because it can be easy to push yourself and think you should be more capable than you are.  I wouldnt want to see you disheartened and you need to build up that knee and ankle again.

Not that Im an expert or anything!  I am just a big fan of the programme a lot of us are doing which really takes you from zero to hero in a few weeks!  

Well, my kit is ready for the morning.  I often wake up before the rest of the house, so tomorrow I will be out that door!  I hope the weather is as nice as it was today.  It will be a novelty to run in sunshine and blue skies - even if it is still freezing cold!

Fingers crossed for you Katy - hoping the snow and ice has departed!

• hey i don't mind if it rains as long as the ice has melted , i want to test out my new shoes , mind you if its real mushy ice i might wear my current shoes so i don't spoil the new ones lol  - such a girl!! 

• Christen those trainers Curlytwig!  I also love running in the rain....actually, I just like the fact that Im out there!  It makes me feel like a proper runner!

• i will update tomorrow about which shoes i wore image

• Hello everyone, I've been lurking around for a week or so (hope you don't mind! image) & thought I'd register so I can post & introduce myself image

I've been a lifelong shin splints sufferer, and I hoped that with the right shoes & program I'd finally achieve my dream of being able to run, relatively pain-free. After the first day of C25K my shins started acting up. At the end of the week they were aching all day & night. I went to a sports physio & he analysed my gait & said basically my core strength is too weak to pull my leg up enough at the front so I'm kicking forward at the last minute & landing hard.