Runs and feeling nauseous

Hi all,

I am fairly new to running and have over the last 6 months upped and upped my running on a treadmill at my local gym. I am now running up to 15k at around 13kph which for me is a good speed and distance. I am quite happy with the distance and recently have taken it more seriously by investing in proper shoes and training gear.

I have upped my running speed in the new year and pushing myself a little bit harder though slight increments and have now found I am becoming more nauseous afterwards. I am not eating anything heavy before training and I am drinking fluids, though I tend to drink water before and after running. I make sure I walk for 10 minutes and stretch etc when completed. The nausea has just recently started and it tends to be an hour afterwards, I am eating, drinking and my pee is clear so I am not so dehydrated.

I have had a bit of a look around on the forums and people seem to think that chocolate milk shake, I am guessing this is a Protein shake is the way to go?

Any advice? tips? I am not looking bulk up but keen to make sure I do the right thing.

Thanks in advance.

Paul.

Comments

• So you're running all your speeds at the same speed (probably the speed you can just maintain) and the same distance? This is a recipe for disaster. (or certainly a plateau)

80% of your mileage should be at a comfortable speed (you should be able to maintain a conversation happily at this effort level) giving you 20% on fresh legs to focus on pushing the pace.

Read the first three posts here - it doesn't look like you're training for a race, but the priciples of training are covered quite clearly.

• i found treadmill running made me dizzy  - i spoke to the gym instructors about it , and they said that  the simulated motion can make some people dizzy  - not sure if the same as feeling nauseous? i run outside now and this never happens,