flat feet, midfoot strike and picking the right shoes

Hi,

I have been running for over 10 years. Over the past 3+ years have I transitioned successfully to a midfoot/forefoot strike. This has cured me of shin splints as well as improved my speed and endurance. As a result I have smashed my 5k, 10k and half marathon times.

However, I seem to have trouble picking the correct shoes. I have received conflicting advice about whether my flat feet are a concern when choosing shoes.

Some have said it should make no difference whether I get supportive, guidance, neutral or cushioned shoes as if I am running midfoot or forefoot I am landing in front of the arch and it therefore the shoe type never comes into question. This kind of makes sense. If my heel never (or barely) touches the ground (after my midfoot makes contact) then is the arch even in the equation?

Others say that the foot (flat foot in my case) will pronate no matter what touches the ground first.

Anyone out there with experience of gait analsys?

Comments

• My view is: Shouldnt make any difference with forefoot landing as others have said.
    Your heel should touch the ground however, dont try to stop it, it should just quickly touch before lifting again.

Running this way does bring the arch into the equation as the foot can work as it is supposed to. (pronation is not bad, its part of the natural foot movement to help your lower leg cope with shock) the problems arise when people over or under pronate and then this should only affect you if you heel strike.

I naturally overpronate on one foot, and have no trouble running in barefoot shoes with a forefoot strike.

• Have you tried Brooks Cadence? They encourage a mid foot strike and have support for overpronators.