First 10k race, what to expect/ any advice?

I am running my first 10k race on the 3rd of March and have very little idea of what to expect! 

A few questions I have are: How early should I turn up? How competitive can I expect people to be? Are there any rules regarding what I should wear or if I can take an iPod and that sort of thing? 

Sorry I know these sound very trivial, I'm just very new to it all and would love to feel a little more familiar with the process.

Any help or advice appreciated!

Comments

• I would get there 30 mins or so before the start: time for a toilet stop and a bit of a warm-up. If you need to register or pick up a number on the day, then a bit longer. People are competitive but only with themselves: other runners are invariably supportive, particularly with a newbie. Ipods etc.- depends on the race. Most races advise against them, but any rules are rarely enforced. You will miss out on a lot of the atmosphere, though.

Which race are you doing? Small club races are quite different from larger mass races.
  • If you tell us which race it is people might be able to give specific advice.Races do differ in competitiveness and character as well as facilities etc.

You might even find a running mate or cheering squad. I was worried about being last by a mile, and posted on here. I got some great support online, but the best thing was on the day some forum members who hung around at the finish line just to check I finished ok and say hi.

Dan's advice is good. But I find the queue for the ladies toilets is always longer than the gents so you might want to consider that.

Don't forget safetly pins for your number. If it's a big race and the weather isn't great a bin bag keeps you warm and dry whilst you are waiting to start. Don't start too fast, if anything start a bit slower than normal. It's very easy to get full of enthusiasm and sprin off the start.

Most importantly, enjoy it.