Training for a big event.

Hey, I have been running now for around 6 months and have kind of got 'the bug'. I am a larger frame (6' and around 15.5 stone). I can run 10k in an hr on road surfaces, I have been advised to not run on consecutive days because i am a larger frame. This really frustrates me as I have never had a running injury and don't suffer from the normal aches of post training. I have never done a major event before and have the chance of running an event consisting of a 6k run, 11k run covering 800m altitude, a half marathon and 10k run over 4 day period. Could someone please put me out of my misery and tell me running on consecutive days is OK and any training tips for the event? Thank you

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

You didn't say who advised you not to run on consecutive days?  It does seem very strange advice, and may have been given as an initial guide as I think most of the C25k and similar beginner schedules tend to leave at least a day between sessions.  However, as you've been running for over 6 months, you should be safe to add additional runs into your average week.

I would say try it and see how you get on, as most runners can happily run on several consecutive days.  For the first few occassions, its probably worth doing a shorter session on the first day, and the longer session on the second day - so that you start the second day with minimal fatigue.

This advice has the usual caveats that I'm not medically qualified and I only have your post to base my opinion on!  But it does strike me that someone's given you some duff advice, however well intentioned.

• "larger frame" generally means diddlysquat.  I'm a larger frame than you - over 16stone - and run when I feel like it.  if you want to run on consecutive days - that's your choice.  and as long as your weight isn't causing you grief, ignore the naysayers

HOWEVER - I'll throw some caveats in.