How to make gravy?

Just got a cracking piece of beef for Boxing Day and really, really don't want to spoil it with instant gravy. I'm a pretty good cook (and modest with it!) but one thing that foils me every time is gravy. Every time I try it ends up flavourless, lumpy and yet runny at the same time.

So who's got a fool proof recipe for gravy?

(hopeful) Higs

Comments

• higs - you can but freshly prepared gravy these days in tubs - get back to the supermarket!!

• take meat out when its cooked and leave it covered to rest.

meat juices and fat in pan - skim fat from top so there is only maybe a tablespoon left but leave all the juices in.

add 1-2 tablespoons of plain flour (depends on how many you much gravy you want) roughly 1 tbsp per 1/2 pint finished gravy.

mix in the flour using a wooden spoon then cook on hob for 5 mins - keep stirring so it doesn't stick

add beef stock a bit at a time (i use oxo cubes for stock) - mixing after you add each bit till there's no lumps. change to a whisk once it gets difficult to mix with a spoon.

add enough stock so that is a bit runnier than you like your gravy. once you've added enough keep cooking on medium hob (and keep stirring) until its the right consistency.

possible flavourings...
    i like red wine added with the beef stock
    or some fresh herbs mixed into the beef stock when you make it - you'll need to sieve them out at the end though

• that should say depends on how much gravy you want!
  • Sorry Higs, mine always comes out of a tin marked Bisto.
    My mum used to use Bisto powder, mixed in the bowl she had made the yorkshire pud in, and also she added the juices from the joint, if I remember correctly.
    That was tasty