training advice

Hi all, I hope I have posted in the right forum. My dad has been diagnosed with Cancer and I want to do the marathon next year for charity.  I need to give myself the best possible chance but know I have to build up slowly.

I am and have been active for the past few years playing football, cycling, weight training so I dont class myself as a total newbie.

I am after a structured training plan and hope to do some 5k,10k and halfs throughout the year but would you guys suggest I just go and see how long I can run for then build from there?

Comments

• Paul 

Sorry to hear about your Dad. Words fail eh.

Check out the training plans on this site for all the distances. This will give you an idea of what you need to do to acheive each target distance. Then look at either the 5 or 10k and work towards that, once you know where your fitness is at and how realistically you'll be in shape for it book a race at that distance. Build in increments and with the timeframe you've set you should be fine for a marathon you have plenty of time to get those miles into your legs so don't go crazy. image

Best of luck to you both

• just thought i would post an update

I went out last week and managed 20 minutes although this wasn't continuos running so thought i would build a program that slowly builds me up to continous running.

On the thurday managed 8min run/1 min walk x 3.  then on the saturday I went out and did a full 20 minutes, it wasn't fast but I ran the whole way

This week I increased to 10min run / 2 min walk x3 and managed to get to over 5K although the time was slow (32 minutes).  Repeating this again thursday and then saturday hoping to complete a 25 minute run.

Small gradual improvements, not bothered about distance or completion time at the moment that will come but am pleased with my progress

• Hi Paul,

Sad news about your dad, but i'm sure he appreciates you running in honour of him.