Options

Newbie in need of some advice

Hi!

I'm new to running and I'm having some teething problems that I'm hoping I can get some advice with.

Some background info: I'm 25, 6ft (and a half inch!) and currently weighing in at ~135kg.  

For my size, I would say that I'm actually reasonably fit - I've been working on my weight via the Gym (and healthy eating!) over the last 4 or so months, and typically go for a 1.5 - 2 hour workout every other day (both cardio and weights). Overall im very happy with the progress I'm making fat-loss wise.

Ive recently decided that I want to "get back into running". The last time I "ran" was really back in primary school where I did a fair amount of cross country (and to an extent competed). 

I started jog/walking at the gym (treadmill, obviously) - and completed a 5km Jog/walk in about 40 mins on my second run.

I also experimented running 5km in 200m stints, broken up with a quick set of weights after each 200m (and getting back on the same treadmill before it reset the stats).

On Saturday I ran outside for the first time, and managed 5.6km of run/walking (no idea on time, but it wasn't quick). 

I'm having no major problems while running, I'm pushing and getting very out of breath, and as expected my legs get heavy and ache towards the end of my planned route. 

The issue I'm having is the severe pain I'm getting in the days following. Now, I expect some aches, and from pushing weights I know (and quite like) muscle aches after a hard gym session - but this is different. I'm getting a lot of sharp pain in around the muscles towards my ankles, shooting up my calves - to about half way up my lower leg. Its Wednesday now, and its very painful to simply walk - I've done no running since Saturday.