Stretching

So, I'm having a discussion on a non-running specific forum regarding stretching and whether it is beneficial. Some guys are saying don't stretch at all, and there is little evidence to suggest it is beneficial.

I am no expert, with only anecdotal evidence to, so I am happy to bow to those with greater knowledge.

What are your thoughts?

Comments

• Every text book written advises to stretch.  that is enough for me.

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Modern research has debunked it to some extent. The current consensus seems to be that stretching prior to a run (with cold muscles) is not beneficial and may cause injury.  Stretching after a run isn't as clear cut - if I have a tight muscle at the end of a run I will do some stretches to try and release the tension, otherwise I don't bother.  

See following link:

http://www.runnersworld.com/stretching/should-i-stretch-my-runs

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

It lets you run faster.

Long muscles contract and relax more dynamically than short ones. 

Show me a guy who can barely touch his knees and I'll show you a guy with a crap stride, crap style and times to match.

Nothing to do with avoiding injuries.

🙂

• Good article, thanks for the link. Looks like I may have to re-think image

• RicF wrote (see)

It lets you run faster.

Long muscles contract and relax more dynamically than short ones. 

Show me a guy who can barely touch his knees and I'll show you a guy with a crap stride, crap style and times to match.

Nothing to do with avoiding injuries.

If you read that article, it suggests that your flexibility is genetic and actually trying to lengthen your muscles beyond their natural flexibility could lead to injury. A runner, for example just needs to be flexible enough to perform their activity, and that doesn't require stretching to achieve.