Is it common for your gait to change as you become more experienced?

l went to sweatshop in meadowhall at the weekend and took my old (and first) pair of trainers in. l told them i found them really comfortable and was looking for something similar. They wanted me to have my gait analysed again so l went on this pressure plate type thing and then on the treadmill.

The chap dealing with me said l was over pronating and that this was quite natural for people who have progressed from total beginners to someone who has now been running for about a year.

The end result was me leaving there with a pair of expensive new trainers that dont feel comfortable at all image

Has anyone else had a similar experience or does anyone know if this is a common issue?

Comments

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

The shop guys have all been educated to treat over pronation or even just pronation as some kind of disease. It isn't.

Here's an example of over pronation in the process of running 56:30 for 10 miles on the road.

/members/images/493151/Gallery/pronate.png

Yes. That's my foot.

🙂

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

If you're not happy with the trainers, take them back.  The running on a treadmill gives some guidance but its not a perfect solution.

I suspect if you had a photo of RicF's feet 5 mins into the race his gait would be slightly different to the 56min shot above, and it could be sugnificanlty different on a treadmill.

Did you have any aches & pains with your old trainers?  If they were neutral and you were now pronating, then I'd have expected you would have experienced some aches and pains in one or more leg joints.

• Never take the advice of running shop staff.

If you find a pair of trainers you get on with stock up as inevitably they'll be discontinued next year.  

• GE, Sweatshop offer a 30 day shoe satisfaction guarantee, so if you are not happy with them, return them and ask for a new pair.