Great North Run - where to stay

Apologies if this is in the wrong Forum area - I'm a newbie!   I've got into the Great North Run at the first time of asking (missed out on London Marathon four times running, now).  My question is - is it best to stay near the start or the finish of the GNR or does it not really matter as the public transport is really good?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Paul - congratulations on getting into the Great North Run.  In terms of where to stay, it doesn't really matter whether start or finish as the public transport really is pretty good.  You might find that options are limited already as many people book well in advance if they have a guaranteed place for the next year.  In terms of transport the metro is very easy to use and I understand from other people that the bus is pretty straightforward too.  The best advice I can give is to look at how close to a metro the hotel is and use that as a guide.  If you are within walking distance of any metro you'll be fine to get to the start and back again at the end.

• We've stayed in the centre of Newcastle the past two years, walked to the start, then got the Metro back afterwards, always suits us fine. But think it's each to their own, we tend to stick around in the beer tent for a few hours, have a makeshift baby-wipe 'wash' in the portaloos, then stop off at every boozer between the charity village and the metro. By that time it's quietened down a lot and you're not queing from the Metro.