Talkback: Your First Half-Marathon (Preview)

Im very new to all this. Just booked into the Chester half marathon in May. I am fairly active, do about 4 runs a week on average about 4 miles each. I go to the gym, do other various cardio activity. I only started really pushing myself at the new year though. Just a bit worried I might be jumping the gun a bit here. I'm determined to do this though, does anyone think I may be a bit pushed for time?Thanks!

Comments

• No you've got loads of time if you apply yourself. If you make those 4 runs part of a plan you will be ok.

• Probably.

Most of us follow a training plan. I do it to get myself ready for race day without having to plan anything. If today is Wednesday it's 8 miles easy kind of thing.

Tomorrow I am on long run Sunday and doing 14 miles.

BUT!

Well done for sticking your money on the table and wanting to give it a go. Look at your next one for June or July. This gives you enough time to get the miles in your legs.

Right now I'd say aim for a 10k which you should handle easily. And get race day experience.

But keep looking for that half. They are probably taking entries now.
  • Whoops!

It's in MAY. Thought you said March.

Don't see why not. Get a training plan from the site. Calculate the weeks to go until race day.

And get on with it!