Can I train for a marathon in 8 weeks?

Hi,

I'm new to all of this but I'm really keen to run the Brighton Marathon in mid-April.

I'm 20, reasonably fit (work out perhaps twice a week) but can only do 5k on a treadmill.

I've read that on average it takes 12-16 weeks to train for a marathon but if I were to enter this one - I would only have 8 weeks, does anyone believe this is physically possible or is it just a silly idea?

I'd also be happy running a half marathon but am based in London and so finding local halves with availability is near impossible.

Thanks,

Tagged:

Comments

• Well its not really 8 weeks - typically you'd have a 2 week taper so you're on fresh legs.

Even if you reduced that to 7 weeks - you're not going to get up to any decent standard of fitness for this challenge.

If you added 2 miles a week to your longest run - you'd only get up to 15 miles as the longest. General convention is that you run 5 x 20 milers before doing a good marathon.

You could get round I guess - but what your time would be is anyones guess.

I'd rather train properly and enjoy the race rather than have crap training and suffer in the race.

There are plenty of halves outside of London - why not have a weekend away with that as a treat ?
  • It would be physically possible to complete one, but would likely involve quite a lot of walking, possibly a bit of pain, risk of injury from trying to build up the milege too quickly, and a long and uncomfortable recovery. So unless there is some compulsion by way of someone holding a gun to your head I really wouldn't bother.