Quad pain advice please

Hello all,

Just wondering if any one can share some advice with me please ...

I have been training for VLM for the last several months now, in fact, pretty much since I finished the soggy Manchester Marathon last April. I was lucky enough to get a ballot place and have been buzzing ever since.

My training was going superbly well, hadn't missed a single run and was looking forward to the big day.

However, a fortnight ago I took the plunge and I went running with my brother in law who is a lot slimmer and fitter than me. It's the first time I've ever been running with anyone for more than half an hour. I told him I was slow and he assured me he would keep to my pace.

To be fair to him, he did keep my pace, and was always running behind me, never once asked to up the pace, but, I think the percieved pressure of running with someone made me subconciously want to 'show off' and I ended up beating my best 1/2 time by 5 mins to get 2:17.

Ever since, I have had a bad pain in BOTH my quads. I can feel it when I'm sitting/laying and walking/running is VERY uncomfortable to the point of actual pain. I've missed two short runs of 4 and 7 miles last week and then ran my long run 10 miles (t'was a step back week). This week I have ran 3 and 7 miles (I missed a 4 miler tonight) and am now in pretty bad pain, I will just about be able to hobble the 15m on Saturday but definitely couldn't run it. As I type it feels as though my quads have been scolded.

I've tried reading up on the subject and it seems the only cure is RICE and 2 weeks rest. With just 8 weeks to go, I'm entering a critical phase and I'm fearing missing two weeks of training is going to really knock the stuffing out of my training and means the only safe course of action is to swerve the big day. image

Does anyone have any thoughts on my predicament? Opinions greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Comments