I have no idea what i am doing

Good moring to you all! well, this is quite surreal for me.... I have never done this before, I dont run, never have done, i walk quite a bit and i do exercise classes, thats my fitness. i'm 32 years old, dont drink much and eat fairly healthy with the odd takeaway now and again..

I've made the decision id like to do a half marathon, i've registered with run to the beat in order to get info on when i can enter for the oct run.

I've been going through the internet gathering information on beginners guides etc... but i have no idea where to start..??

When do i start what do i do!!!!! I've got until Oct...

Can anyone help advise me on the steps i need to take??? x

Thanks people!!

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

Does the gym where you do your exercise classes have a running group?  Many do, and they're usually aimed at beginners, so it may be worth asking there.

You will need to get some running shoes, so go along to a running shop and ask for some advice.  They should put you on a treadmill and watch how you run, then make recommendations based on your running style.

And very important - get a good sports bra!

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

It sounds daunting to run 13 miles for the first time, but you have plenty of time to prepare.

Its worth breaking down the distance and experiencing "racing" conditions prior to the event.  Have a look for a local parkrun (5k distance) and maybe a 10k run in May/June, as stepping stones to running the HM.