Complete and utter Newbie!!!

Morning, Beautiful People!!! I'm a newbie to this whole running thing??? well, I say newbie, I tried it over a year ago, but couldn't get my overweight backside to get more than a hundred yards before collapsing in a heap, having an asthma attack!!! So, I went to the gym and was doing the C25K podcasts on the treadmill, but could not run for longer than five minutes (at 4,5 mph), which was really frustrating, and pretty embarrassing while in a packed gym!!!! Anyhoo, I read a book called 'Run, Fat B!tch, Run!' (No joke, that's the actual title!! It kinda spoke to me!!! Lol!!!) by Ruth Field, which basically told you to stop your whining and excuses and just go out and do it!! So, I thought I would give the great outdoors another go and have been out jogging for a couple of weeks now. At first, I was only doing a few yards before having to stop and walk. Then I managed to do the whole "jog to the next lamp post, walk to the next one" thing, and then one day last week, lo and behold, I actually managed to jog a whole mile without stopping!!! To say I'm over the moon about this acheivement, is an understatement!!! However, the term 'jog' is a bit far fetched too!!!! I'm a bit concerned that the pace I'm going is not actually jogging!! It takes me between 15 and 20 minutes to complete my jog, and I am pretty sure that one of these days I am going to get passed by a pensioner with a Zimmer frame!!!! Now, I would like to start pushing myself further and maybe hit 1.5 miles, but I'm not sure whether to work on going further, or to concentrate on getting faster!! I would be grateful if someone could let me know if I am going too slow and, if so, what can I do about it?!?!

Comments

• Well done on your progress so far, you've already done better than most people!