Newbie having trouble with the gear

Hey everyone. Newbie here. Looking to get into running since moving to London (gym are a king's ransom!).

I went to my local running shop and asked the lady there for what she thought I'd need to get started. She picked me out a very tight lycra top and very tight shorts and some trainers.

Problem is I'm a bit shy about how revealing the clothing is. She advised that underwear isn't needed because it can cause chafing ect ect... But I dunno I'm sure these shorts need something over or under!

Do these look right to you?

http://i.imgur.com/6VD9rCp.jpg

Comments

• they look like compresion wear...which is one of the latest things...........the top looks ok..you have a slim body and can get away with it......

the bottom half is a personal thing...you do not need underwear under running shorts.......but i personally think that compresion shorts on their own look just like underwear..i would be tempted to wear a loose type of running shorts on top.......

if you are not comfortable in what you wear then it will affect your runningimage

• what's wrong with them??  embrace the lycra

and yes, undercrackers can cause chafing so always best to go commando - and if there is a hint of chafage, vaseline is your best friend.

you might need a bit more clothing over the top in this cold weather though!

• Shy but posting your pic on a forum for comments?

TBH we need a head shot image

I mean above the shoulders image

• Those shorts look like underwear to me and are usually worn under shorts...I think you'd better run fast in thoseimage

• fat buddha wrote (see)

you might need a bit more clothing over the top in this cold weather though!

In clothes that tight I'd want a little more clothing on my bottom half in this weather.  

• firstly i read this and was expecting a woman , well thats just shown myself how sterotypical i can be image, assuming a woman must feel self concious about her appearance while running  - bad twig !!image