NDW50 2013

Hey guys and girls ive had a quick search and cant seem to find a thread for the 2013 NDW50 so thought I would start one for anyone who wants a natter!

This is my first attempt at an Ultra so of course im doing it in sandals!

Hows your training going?

Comments

• WiBWiB ✭✭✭

Genuien question on the sandals. I remember you said they were Luna sandals in another thread, firstly I did a google images search and the amoutn of people who wear the sandals but then cover their legs in compression gear is funny.

Secondly, and the serious question, do you not think you would be faster/more efficient in zero drop shoes? If so, what is the reason for wearing sandals instead of a full shoe? Just curious!

I will be at the race but not running it, will be a great race and I am sure you will have plenty of fun!

• loulabellloulabell ✭✭✭

hi B2b , you beat me to starting a thread for this event.image

i think you will be fine in sandals depending on how much experience you have in them and if its dry!  already said to you a friend of mine runs in them and we did a trail run through all sorts of terrain. i was actually a bit concerned his feet would be ripped to shreds but they were ok.  !

• loulabellloulabell ✭✭✭

i will be a wuss and stick to my shooz, will decide nearer the time if i will run it in zeros.

• WIB - Good questions! image Yeah I got some calf compression too but only wear them after im done as I feel like my legs will explode if I run in them! 

Well I started in Merrel trail gloves and found that during longer runs the ends of my toes hurt and I was forever getting blisters on them. I put about 450 miles on them and doctored them a lot before finally ordering the Luna.

The feeling of running in the sandals can only really be explained by giving it a go! They immediately highlight every error in your running and force you to be more efficient, REALLY REALLY frustrating to begin with but I believe its worth it.