What to do when you have reached your target milage?

I am pretty new to running, ran a 10k last year and looking to do a few this year.

I have been reading about target mileage that I should build up to with a long run, speed training etc but after I have reached this level through building up weekly and completed my race do I maintain this level or train down a bit?

I realise 10k isn't a massive distance and the weekly mileage should cause over training if scheduled well. 

Comments

• Hi Aaron,

as you say 10k isnt massive, but its still a decent level of running. For you to train well for the 10k i personally would recommend building up to 10 mile LSR's.

this way the 10k is easily achievable and may even feel easy. THEN you can think about speed work if thats the way you want to stay. 

what time are you aiming for?

As for after its up to you if you want to further your running or stay the same mileage but just bust out some speedy sessions (intervals/fartlek etc) 

• Hi thanks for the reply,

Currently aiming to beat my last time which was 55mins, should be achievable as I am enjoying my running this time. The last 10k was more just to see if I could do it and the training wasn't great. I have more of a body building background but I'm trying to be a bit more of an all rounder with my training now.

My main reason for asking was a lot of training plans are all about getting to a certain mileage and peaking for a race but there isn't much info on what to do once you get to that point. With my training back ground I'm used to HIIT to keep cardio sessions down and so I'd definitely say my main focus needs to be on the LSR for now at least.

As far as moving up in distance, currently I'm unsure. I like 10k simply because I am rather busy, still enjoy my resistance training and the runs don't take up an extreme amount of time.
  • 55mins is easily beatable off just slow running week in week out! consistency is the main thing which sounds like you didnt have!