Increasing my pace for 10k

I get sometimes ashamed to tell people I still finish 10K in 1hr 05mins. I am running slowly and trying to pace up but even a small break from running put me back to where I was at the start. I am not looking for a overnight solution really but open to suggestion from everyone .

I have been trying to do interval training which I found good so far.I did last 10K in 1hr which is 5min improvement. The basic training is running 5mins on the treadmill at 9miles/hr , then increase to 10 for another 5mins , then 10.5 for another 5mins , then to 11 for another 5 . After that decrease it slowly at the same rate.Next week instead of starting at 9 , I am going to start at 9.5 and will take it to 11.5.And after 2 weeks , will start at 10 and take it to 12.

Anything else which has worked for you ?

Comments

• Do you do all your training runs on the treadmill?

If so, perhaps add in some outside running, to be more used to that on race day.

• Hmmm, newbie here but something appears wrong, if you can run at 11mph for 5 minutes (ok, short of a mile) then with the proper training you should be able to run 10k in around 41:27 (according to Macmillan). Have you looked at any 10k training plans on here or the web in general? 

What running do you do other than the interval training? Oh, and congrats on the 60min 10k, something I'm yet to achieve.

• my money is on the treadmill units being in km/h and not miles/hr

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Not sure what you are trying to achieve with the increasing speed.  Also, I'm guessing the speedo on your treadmill is broken, as doing intervals at 10mph would be about the speed for a sub 40 min 10k runner.

There's two basic types of speed sessions: