Anyone know where I am with my training?!

Hi All,

I have been training for the last 8 months in preparation for the London Marathon in April. Between July and December 2012 I did between 100 and 150 miles each month with an average pace accross all runs of around 7:25 per mile. Within that stretch of training I did the Birmingham half marathon in October in 87 minutes (I tapered properly for it and felt good on the day).

Since the start of the year I have upped the distances I have been doing and have done just under 180 miles for both Jan and Feb (daily breakdown is here: http://screencast.com/t/xvHGhi9lAw2W - I have done 3 half marathons and 3 long runs close to 20 miles within that training) and intend to do 200+ in March (with at least 4 20+ mile runs included and then taper at the start of April).

To try and gauge my progress I did the Silverstone Half today. I did it in 88 minutes which is slower than I was hoping for by a couple of minutes but the run today took me to 50 miles in total over the last 6 days so I would be really grateful if anyone could help me answer a couple of questions please:

• Does anyone know what sort of time could have expected to do if I had not done this run after doing 33 miles in the 5 days before?
  • Do you think it is possible that I could do a sub 3 hour marathon in London or will I have to aim to do one later this year instead?
Any advice would be much appreciated.   Thanks   Al

Comments

• Nose NowtNose Nowt ✭✭✭

I wouldn't worry about yesterday's HM time too much, as you hadn't tapered. You'd have probably knocked a couple of minutes off, which would have you at almost exactly 3hr marathon pace, according to the RW racetime predictor.