Where am I?

Hi All, I have been training for the last 8 months in preparation for the London Marathon in April. Between July and December 2012 I did between 100 and 150 miles each month with an average pace accross all runs of around 7:25 per mile. Within that stretch of training I did the Birmingham half marathon in October in 87 minutes (I tapered properly for it and felt good on the day). Since the start of the year I have upped the distances I have been doing and have done just under 180 miles for both Jan and Feb (daily breakdown is here: http://screencast.com/t/xvHGhi9lAw2W - I have done 3 half marathons and 3 long runs close to 20 miles within that training) and intend to do 200+ in March (with at least 4 20+ mile runs included and then taper at the start of April). To try and gauge my progress I did the Silverstone Half today. I did it in 88 minutes which is slower than I was hoping for by a couple of minutes but the run today took me to 50 miles in total over the last 6 days so I would be really grateful if anyone could help me answer a couple of questions please: Does anyone know what sort of time could have expected to do if I had not done this run after doing 33 miles in the 5 days before? Do you think it is possible that I could do a sub 3 hour marathon in London or will I have to aim to do one later this year instead? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks Al

Comments

• I'd say slightly over doing things but I'm no expert

• Also-ranAlso-ran ✭✭✭
    I would say it is going to take another really decent month of training to improve, plus everything going right on the day (such as health, pacing, no traffic slowing you up) to stand a chance. As a comparion I did a 1:22 HM about 6 weeks before a 2:59 marathon. The half was run untapered off about a 55m week. The marathon was uncrowded. On the upside I was a little injured and recovering from illness.