Ideal Starting Distance (ADVICE NEEDED)

Hi guys, 

As discussed in my previous thread I will be doing my first triathlon this summer. I am fairly confident in my running and cycling ability but I am new to swimming. My question is, which distance should i do for my first triathlon: sprint or olympic? The date is mid june so i still have a while to train. 

My swimming is poor but I have kept fitness ticking over through winter. My most recent sessions:

Swim: sets of 3x20m, 3x40m, 3x60m, 3x80m and 3x100m (not sure of pace just trying to improve technique and breathing)

Run: Treadmill 30min 7.2km Av. Gradient 1.5% Av. HR= 180bpm Av. Speed 14.4km/hr

Cycling: 100km average speed 23km/hr three hills (this was mid Jan)

Any adivce would be great. I am confident that i will be able to do the distance just the thought of doing them one after another is pretty daunting. 

Comments

• Go straight for the oly distance... First off riding a 100k in 1 go non stop that's ample even enough for a half iron.

Speed gradient etc on the treadmill bin that off and get outside but nice speed etc...

Swimming is decent usually the downfall of a new triathlete... But a good amount... No doubt in my mind go Olympic do eeet!
  • Go straight to ironman. That's more of a challenge !
  • I wont be going straight to Ironman. Thanks Jamie, still not sure. Im out for 100k on bike again sunday. May do 5k run when i get back and see how i feel. Thanks for the advice.

• If youre doing 100km rides in January - even if you do Olympic - its only 40km. It'll be a walk in the park ?
  • 100km rides @ 23kph, id need to increase speed a lot. Id rather try and do a good time over olympic or sprint. Plus i dont have the time to train for half ironman distance. I am a university student working on full time placement year with distance learning modules. Pretty cramped schedule until may.