The Road to Paris - On a Plateau - Asics Target 26.2 Training

Comments

• sarah osborne wrote (see)
    Quick question Ady...how quickly did you get use to your new trainers? how many runs did you wear them for before spitfire?

I have worn mine twice now and they dont feel as comfy as my previous pair (the ones ive been doing most my miles in). I did 4m in them last week and 9.5m today but they seemed to make the bottom of my foot uncomfortable from about mile 5 today. Im not sure whether to leave them on one side for now and just wear my older trainers for london or whether to persevere.

Sam I hope you make a quick recovery

Haha......I think I'm the wrong person to ask this question to about wearing new trainers. I'm not very good at breaking them in gently at all. My last pair of new trainers I bought a couple of weeks ago I started using almost immediately. 

I spent an evening walking around in them, then the following day I ran 6 miles in them. I didn't have any issues so the day after that I ran my 18 mile run! This was the week before Spitfire, so I had another 20 odd miles in them before starting Spitfire.

Sarah put some felt along the inside of my left trainer at BC, due to my running technique, to help ease some of the pressure on my arch. She did make me promise not to wear this insole the following day for Spitfire, but I completely forgot about it and didn't have time to change the insole before having to run to the train station. Luckily it didn't give me any blisters or trouble.

I do find with my new stability trainers that my arch does ache more than when I was wearing neutral trainers. But this ache is so much easier to deal with than the knee pain I had!

If it was me I'd perservere, but there's no point continuing in a pair of trainers if it's hurting and affecting the quality of the session.

What time are you hoping to run the East Hull 20 in?

• cat.on.mat wrote (see)