Park Runs

2»

Comments

• How does everyone juggle the parkruns with their long runs?

I am new to running and currently trying to build up my long runs for my first half marathon later in the year and up to about 8 miles which I usually do on a Sunday, but would really like to do some parkruns to help increase my speed. I was thinking perhaps swapping a long run for a park run maybe once a month and then doing a tempo run perhaps Wed or Thurs on the other weeks. Does this sound about right? 

• as a few others have said, I run six miles to the parkrun, do it quick, then run six miles back. works out as a longish run with some intense cardio in the middle. perfect.

i feel my heart gets more benefit from that than a 20 mile plod.

• Oscarsmum - I'm new to running as well, just over 3 months so far, and it was parkrun that got me started. As I've learned a bit more about running, I've been told, am beginning to understand and also see the benefits of the long run, and I'm reluctant to give up one in favour of the other so most weeks I'm doing both. I'm also up to about 8 miles with my long run by the way.

Some would probably say that having 2 'hard' days back-to-back is too much, particularly in the early days, but I'm 42 years old and so far so good in terms of avoiding injury and the rapid improvements I'm seeing in my running.

Is there any other reason why you couldn't do both yourself?
  • I did a couple of Northampton parkruns in the autumn.  Massive confidence boost when I was down - everyone was really friendly and positive, and I had a great time.

It's been a while since I've been, but not because I didn't enjoy it.  Flu, starting marathon training (Saturday morning long run), and spending quite a few weekends away have got in the way.  I'm hoping to shift the long run to Sunday and get back to parkrunning, though - it's a very short warmup jog away from my house, so I really have no excuse not to!