What was I thinking?

So I've been convinced to enter the Bath Half Marathon in March next year.

I'm new to running (more jogging really) as I only started about a year ago on the treadmill to try to loose weight after having kids. It's only been in the last couple of weeks that I've moved from treadmill to outside and have been shocked at how much harder I have to work! 

I've only agreed to do the half marathon in order to raise some money for a blood cancers research charity. I'm really scared. 

The furthest I've ever run is 10k on the treadmill a couple of months ago and I'm not as fit now as I was then - and it's so much harder outside - hills and things. I'm also pretty overweight which doesn't help. Need to cut out the chocolate & wine and get the trainers on more regularly. 

Have I got any hope of sorting myself out enough to get around a half marathon in 5 months?

Comments

• Certainly nothing to stop you getting fit for the half marathon, if you can put in the training.  Of course, there are a lot of winter months between now and the event... so you don't have the benefit of summer training...  and, for me, outdoor running at LEAST twice a week (complemented by gym and treadmill work) is needed.   I don't know the Bath course, but you'll know that it's in a hilly area. You'll face running in some unpleasant weather, in the dark.