SENSIBLE question on minimal shoes - NO TROLLS PLEASE!

I have been running for about 2 years now (background is fairly competitive cycling) and so far (fingers-crossed) no injuries, pains, etc.  Until last month, it was unstructured - just going out when I felt like it, making up my route, distance, speed as I felt.

I have seen some New Balance 101 minimal trail shoes for £20 and thought that they are cheap enough to 'have a go'.  So, I don't 'need' to fix any problems - I just thought it's a cheap introduction.

QUESTION: Am i going to benefit from this at all?  Is there any other advantage to minimal shoes other than injury-prevention?  Is it more fun, or faster, or better for the environment?

And please don't turn this into another thread like the last one. image  Thanks!

Comments

• Er, yes.  Why?

• It is reduced from £50-60 in a sale.

http://www.sportsshoes.com/product/NEW699D/new-balance-mte101-(d)-trail-running-shoes/

It' this one (but not from there).

Do you like chicken?

• As KK says, it's not strictly 'barefoot', but it may have less cushioning than what you're runnning in now, so take it easy before you get used to it. 

I personally like minimalist(ish) shoes, with low profile and low heel-forefoot drop, and I think they can help if you want to move to more midfoot/forefoot striking. However, neither shoes, nor midfoot/forefoot striking though are the only acceptable way of running and certainly no recipe for injury free runnng -  there is more to right technique than how the foot lands. 

• Thanks, goji.  By moving to a more mid/forefoot strike, can you go faster?  I know that when I sprint, I am up at the front of my foot, but the longer I go, the further back that gets.  Is there an advantage to running say, 1/2 marathons in skinny shoes/on the front of your feet?

Thx