First Duathlon, Help!

So next month I will be doing my first duathlon, 10k/40k/5k (I need more swimming practice before I attempt Triathlons).

The problem is I have never done a multisport event before so don't really know what to do when it comes to kit. I have a cheap Aldi trisuit that I was contemplating wearing (with a jacket over the top), is this okay or is there a better option?

Also, what is the usual time that it would take to complete this distance? I am expecting to be at the arse-end of the results but realistically what am I looking at? I have done the distances on their own and have the times for those (10k - 50min, 40k bike (1:45) and 5k - 25) but have never done them all back to back, so how much longer is it going to be?

Thanks and sorry for all the questions!

Comments

• Aldi suit will be fine. Jacket only needed if its cold.

Your bike time looks slow compared to most - but your run times look good. Really - dont worry about it - just enjoy the day. If your last 5k is 25 mins - you'll be doing really well !
  •  Thanks for the quick reply! Yeah i've only the distance once and it was a few weeks ago during the snow and hail so it was brutal but I know I have a lot to work at on my cycling. I was just concerned that I would be that guy at the end of race who finishes an hour after everyone else has packed up and gone home! 

• Firstly, worry not, you'll be quicker on the day, assuming we hit spring and it's slightly better weather conditions.

Secondly, have you had a look on the event website to check previous running of the event's results? 

Thirdly, enjoy it, everyone has to do a first event at some point, if you finish an hour after everyone else it'll be a very quick field looking at your times!