Tight groin after 10 miles

Sorry this is probably a really numpty question.  I've been running maras for 7+ years now, but always suffered after about 10 miles.  Muscles that feel like they run from the top of the front of my legs up to my hips - parallel with the side of my legs (if that make sense) start to get tight and restrict my stride length.  I've looked around at stretches etc. that should help but nothing seems to work.  Very gratefull for any help!

Comments

• Google hip flexors image is that the area?

• sounds like hip flexors.

If you work in an office or other job where you sit down for most of the day then they tend to get shorter, so need regular stretching.

or they need strengthening with leg raises?

• Yep I'm an office boy so that makes sense! 1 month before London, too late to make much difference? Thanks loads for advice guys!
  • I suffer terribly from tight hip flexors (sit on train on way to/from work, sit at my desk for 8 hours) so I know exactly what you're suffering with - fine up until 8/9 miles then tight as!

I found a fair few hip flexor stretches on youtube, worth giving them a go - http://www.exrx.net/Stretches/HipFlexors/KneelingHipFlexor.html that one works well for me - sometimes gets my hips to 'pop' (gross I know) but feels great after!

Best of luck with the marathon image

• Hi Jonathan, 

Try working on your hanstrings and calfs too.  One reason a muscle group gets tight is because it is over used.  So if you are running with low knees (i.e jogging) with the main usage being your quads then they will become over used and thus tighten up.  When you have time between marathons donate some quaility time to your hamstring, glutes and calves.  Building these muscles up will help and also make your running quicker

Goof luck

Jen

www.anatomymanchester.co.uk

www.anatomychester.co.uk

• Jen . three posts all giving links to your own website..are you here to give advice or promote your own business..........image