First Maathon Time

I'm a novice veteran runner (47),I completed the Great North Run this year in 1.53 (first race) and have entered the Barcelona Marathon this will be my first Marathon what would be classed as a respecatble time to aim for?

Comments

• Finishing.

That's it, aim for 4:30 maybe.. But finishing is the target for your first then you can worry about beating it the second time.

I was a lot slower 5:30 but believe me finishing is the objective for marathon 1. After the first it really is not what time did you do, etc... It's more you did a Marathon!!

image have fun set yourself a plan, have an ideal race time, a going ok time, and a hey I survived and got around timeimage

Maybe plan your ideal time 4:10 or so ... I did first half in 2:28 3;02 second half could walk quicker probably, but last 3km I wobbled and when going downhill no matter how shallow the slope. Be proud that you finish then worry about doing a quicker one.
  • Almost any marathon finishing time should be considered respectable for a novice veteran - but you specifically ask what to aim for, and that depends on the amount of training you've put in  and also on your psyche.

If I was you (novice 47yr old - therefore probably quite capable of improving), having done 1:57 GNR in September...  and if I was finding the time to do a decent amount of training for a March marathon, I'd be basing my training programme around a target of 3:59:59. If you follow the training plan well, you can achieve that.  If your work/other is going to make training a  challenge, then think about 4-20 as a target.

You've got to be prepared, whatever target you choose, that you could beat it by a bit, but you might miss it by a lot!!  Good luck.

• Oh saw some studies on here that averaged out a marathon at about 1.26 x half marathon time... Use that as a reasonable calculatorimage
  • 1.26 x half-marathon time? Surely not. Only one quarter longer for twice the distance? Maybe 2.26?