Complete beginner doing the St. Albans half marathon

Hi everyone, Just joined this forum as a complete beginner. I used to do a bit of walking but decided this year I wanted to keep fit and lose weight by taking up running. As a teen I always hated cross country and could never see myself as a runner but I am determined to see this through and hope to be able to compete in the St. Albans half marathon in June this year having signed up in January. So far I am just at the stage where I am able to run 2 miles 3-4 times a week with hardly any walking but at a very slow pace. I am also a bit overweight but I'm hoping with time as I increase the miles I will be able to get rid of some of the excess and increase my pace. Any pointers would be welcomed as at the moment I am struggling with tight calf muscles and suspect I am not warming up properly. I do lots of stretching beforehand but wonder if I should be doing more. Also worried that I have take on too much doing a half marathon as my 1st challenge!!! Lisa X

Comments

• JindaleeJindalee ✭✭✭
    Hi Lisa. Well Done for signingup for your first HM.

I only did a few 5 k runs before doing my first HM so it's not a problem. If you don't do it already I would follow a beginners training plan for a half marathon. This way you know that you get the training you need to be able to do it. Mine was over 12 weeks and it helped me getting fit for my first half.

Good luck!
  • Hi Lisa- I too am a beginner and doing the St albans half in June! It was great to see your post. We sound quite similar...

I'm doing a run/walk 3 times a week but not managing to run constantly for more than about 15 mins (you're doing better than me).  With 14 weeks to go I am wondering what I have let myself in for! It's meant to be a very hilly course too!

Do you live in St Albans? I just got new trainers from the runners world store in Marshalswick Quadrant so hope to try these out tomorrow.