Hip/Groin/Buttocks Pain...3 weeks until 1st marathon..HELP!

Hello Runner's World Forum,

I am hoping someone might have some advice for me. I am a relatively new runner, though I have been running on and off for around 3 years this will be my first full marathon. I have been running consistently for around 6 months and have followed a training plan. All has been going very well, I've completed numerous long Sunday runs and have slowly built these up to 20 miles over the course of the 3 month training plan.

With three weeks to go before my marathon I was feeling pretty confident that I would make my 4:15 goal. Last week after an 18 mile run I had an odd pain in my left buttock. I took it as simply a pain of running 18 miles, however on my Tuesday recovery run I could barely walk let alone run. The pain is now in what feels like the whole of my groin, it is a stabbing pain on weightbaring that makes it very difficult to walk let alone run. The pain appears to radiate slightly down my leg and into my left buttocks (where I felt the initial pain). There is no pain on stretching or moving the leg, rotating the hip etc, the pain appears only to be on weightbaring. The pain and stiffness is considerably worse in the morning. I have rested for the last 6 days, icing three times per day, taking ibroprofen, replacing my running with swimming and streching the hip groin and hamstring muscles. I have seen very limited improvement over the past 6 days and am now really beginning to worry about my marathon in less than three weeks time.

Any advice would be kindly appreciated.

Thanks! Sarah

Comments

• yer majyer maj ✭✭✭

Hi Sarah