You guys and girls must get fed up of all these 'Newbie' threads....

Heyy you guys! I'm new to all this milarky and really don't have a clue what I'm doing at all. Apologies in advance for the dumb questions!

I decided at the beginning of the year to get fit so I thought I'd do a couple of Sprint Tri’s this summer then if I like it to build up to some longer distances for next year.

I picked up my beautiful shiny new road bike last night - (thanks to the cycle to work scheme!) - I'm really looking forward to falling off it this weekend as haven't ridden for a couple of years and never used clipless pedals. My brother, who is quite a serious cyclist, insisted that a road bike and clipless pedals was the way to go for a complete idiot like me EEEEEK! One thing I was thinking of doing was commuting to work on my bike, which would be a daily round trip of 36miles through undulating hills and country roads. Obviously I would need to build up to this but hopefully this should give me a lot of bike experience fairly quickly. Does anyone else on here commute as well? If so how far and how do you fit it in to your training programmes? Would it be too much to build up to doing 4/5 commutes a week over the next couple of months, or will I just burn myself out far too quickly on the bike and mess up the training?

Hmmm looking at all of that it seems like I have quite a few issues to get over before I start thinking too big. I was thinking of contacting my local tri club when I'm a bit fitter. I really don't want them to laugh at my blobbiness, unfitness and complete ineptitude.

Thanks for putting up with me!

G

Comments

• Hi GingerG, I'm a newbie, I managed to stumble through my first sprint tri last sep, i am currently going through the falling off stage, I recently cycled into a stationary car while faffing about with my clip-less pedal looking down.