Intense Stitch

I've been running for nearly 10 years now, training and competing. But recently I have been suffering from a very intense stitch shortly after I start running (about 2 or 3km in). Now I know all about the regular stitch and breathing etc, but this is a very intense stitch just under the bottom of my right rib, its so painful it usually causes me to immediately stop running and curl up in pain. If it is less intense I can usual slow right down and jog through it but it is still very very painful, not bearable at all. 

Does anyone have any theories as to why this is happening? I have been training less than usual due to work commitments but that shouldn’t be an issue really. I don't eat for 2 hours before training either. I will finish a training session but not be tired because I couldn’t run at full capacity because of this stitch. Its incredibly frustrating!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Hi LJ, 

I had the same thing late last year, while ramping up for a HM earlier this year.

It would come on suddenly at about 3 miles, week after week. One day on a tempo run I just gritted on and kept going. It felt almost as if something "popped" and it went way in 100 yards or so, never came back.

Sorry I don't have an explanation, just my experience. All I would say is that I get a few back niggles here and there, some of which transfer to the front and my ribs (getting old) so I just put it down to that.

I was/am in no mood to hand another multiple of £40 to a physio/osteo to keep me running month in/out so adapt my training/expectations to suit.

Let me know how you get on...

• Hi

I'm in the same boat and have been for a year or more off and on, but recently it just won't go away at any decent pace runs and more so the races.