Help - newbie - vlm - at a low ebb

Hi, I am doing my first marathon, the vlm, and I am struggling at the moment. The weather and generally running alone for so long means I am losing focus, and generally not enjoying it. I am meant to do 20m tomorrow, but it is so cold I really don't look forward to it. Last Sunday I managed 17 of the 20, but gave in to the pain/cold/voices saying stop...... My husband picked me up, it was 0C and windy, and I had started to feel the cold and now I am disappointed in myself. Any help? Any advice? I have podcasts ready, think I will try to break it into steps, will try another route...... Thanks

Comments

• One last push and then you can taper down I reckon. The better prepared you are - the more you will be able to enjoy the big day. You did 17 last week - so whats another three ?
  • Hi, I am a newbie and you sound like you are doing amazingly well. Keep it up, you will be so very proud of yourself. Any chance you could find yourself a running buddy? It is so helpful to keep you going. Good luck; (I wish I could run 17m!!) x

• Mr PuffyMr Puffy ✭✭✭
    Have a look at some of the London marathon videos on YouTube, really inspiring. Lay your kit out tonight and tell yourself it's your last long run in the morning, get up and just do it, come what may, if you need to stop, walk, whatever just do it.

Can you get husband to drop you off twenty miles away so you can run home, then your tough miles will be on your home turf?
  • literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

This might sound obvious, but if you are really feeling the cold after 17 miles, you might need to wear more clothes.