wanting to run my first marathon next year

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and a fairly new convert to running, having turned 42 last year I had a mid life crisis moment and decided I should get fit, used the gym a bit and then started running in October. I completed the Hastings H/M on Sunday in 2hr 17 image not a great time for most of you I'm sure, but I was pretty chuffed as I was aiming for 2 1/2 hrs. Anyway, I'm hooked and want to race again with a view to maybe attempting the Brighton marathon next spring. It seems well supported and relatively flat (compared to Hastings anywhere is flat! lol).

what tips/advive can you give regarding training. I work 12 hr shifts and so find it difficult to follow any set training plansimage as some weeks I can only fit in 1 run others 2 or 3. should I just work on time on feet,increasing mileage steadily or are there any other methods that would help. I'm not looking to break any records but I don't want to disgrace myself either, I'd like to get round in 4 - to 4 1/2 hours ish (realistic target or not?) should I aim to complete some races alomg the way, 5-10k ?

Also I'm currently about 12 1/2 stone, would it be of any real benefit to loose a bit more wieght? I've lost about a stone and a Half scince October.

Any tips greatfully recieved, Thanks All. image

Comments

• booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭
    Find a race, then find a plan, as you are planning for next year see if you can get a 20 week plan, but anyway start the 16 or 20 week plan a couple of weeks early as you might loose a couple of weeks due to injury etc.....

Until then keep running if you want variety then do things like park runs, add in the odd 10km / half to keep you in training, above all enjoy yourself.