Options

Minimums vs Five Fingers or neither?

Right I'm a big unit that's fairly new to running this time around, back in the day I used to swear by Saucony and their cushioning. I was 18 stone at New Year and thought sod this, bought a new pair of running shows an went on a diet. Oh an also signed myself up to the Rat Race Dirty Weekend as motivation. I'm now 16.5 stone and 6 foot tall and want to shift at least another stone. I'm running in a pair of Adidas which aren't as cushioned as the old shoes but seem to feel better. I've also compared where I strike my foot in the 2 shoes which is different. This has led me to think should I now while I'm a newbie start training with a barefoot shoe either 5 fingers, minimus or something else to promote better form from the start or because I'm a big unit am I consigned to big shoes and bad form? Dex

Comments

• Options
    I run on road and woodland fire road mainly.
  • Options

minimus i would say, or try the trail glove from merrell, their barefoot range has a good selection though, the trailglove has nothing in the way of cushioning, much like a vibram, but they hae some with a little cushioning that still have the zero drop and vibram sole for people starting out on BF running.

• Options
    So you have a 13 mile (at least) race in 5 weeks. And you want to start training barefoot ? the transition is very slow. You've not really enough time to get up to 13 miles anyway - let alone transitioning to barefoot ?

How long are your runs now ?
  • Options
    8-9 miles no bother at steady slow pace.

Barefoot would be initially for short recovery runs to work on technique in between long steady runs in "proper" runners?
  • Options

"I'm running in a pair of Adidas which aren't as cushioned as the old shoes but seem to feel better. I've also compared where I strike my foot in the 2 shoes which is different. This has led me to think should I now while I'm a newbie start training with a barefoot shoe..."