Pacing error!

Hi Guys,

I'm really annoyed with myself, I ran the Blackpool Half marathon today and cocked up my pacing.

Conditions and course were ideal for a quick time (for me) but I didn't manage myself well and ended up missing my time by just over 4 minutes. I managed a PB of 1.44.08 but I really felt a sub 1.40 was on today.

I know I'm capable of doing it and I felt good early on and was ruuning to time up to 7 miles. I felt good all race really and managed to kick on from 9 miles and gave it everything for a last 3 miles.

I think I just took my eye off the ball between 7 and 9 miles which I reckon cost me my time. I was a bit concsious of looking at the watch all race.

I'm still pretty new to racing (in the loosest term of the word!) so I hope not to make the same mistakes but I just feel arrrrgh! I was a bit emosh at the end because I knew the time was gone for the last mile.

Just venting really but if anyone has some good advice I'd welcome it.

Comments

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Why run feeling good the whole way. I have training runs that feel uncomfortable yet can still run a minute a mile faster in a race.

Its often a question of how much discomfort you can handle. Some cannot cope with even a hint of oxygen debt, joggers forever. Others will end up in hospital.

A great race will have you running, feeling like you are on edge of death the whole way. These are words in a book 'The Complete Distance Runner' by Glover. In it he relates our in one 30km race he broke every PB from 5km onwards.

🙂

• RicF

Read the bit where I said I kicked from 9 miles and gave it everything for the last 3 miles !

I crossed the finish line and was in a fair bit of discomfort.

I'm in the school of thought thta says pace a race that you can handle and then push more if it feels right. I don't want to be one of those guys you pass walking because they go off to hard.