In between Marathons

Hello all, I am running (foolishly) the Brighton Marathon Sunday and London the following Sunday..I am a novice runner who has been churning out 25-30 mile weeks the last two months. Less before due to injury..Has anyone got any advise for recovery in between as I'm running both for charity and for London want to jog round..Expectations are anything from 4hrs to 5hrs with a PB HM time of 1:45..thanks one and all!!

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Treat Brighton as a long run by taking it slow & easy (e.g. 10 to 11 min/mile pace to come in sub 5 hour) and then rest for the whole of next week (I suspect you won't be feeling like running/walking anyway!).

Based on how well you do at Brigthon and how you feel, either go faster/slower or same speed in London.  Be pessimistic with your approach to London - if you start too fast its going to hit you a lot harder than the average participant who's had a restful taper.

If you've not gone further than 30 miles in the last two months, and you haven't got a lot of running prior to this, then you are under-prepared for one marathon let alone two.  I'm guessing you know this already, so you have to take a survival approach rather than trying too hard.

PS Will you be carrying an oversize hammer (and wearing oversize specs)? 

PPS Good luck!

• There's no way to recover in a week.

So you're best off minimising the damage from Brighton. Take it steadily. Lots of walking breaks. Maybe try a cold/icebath after you finish and drink some milkshake shortly after too.

Good luck. Rather you than me !
  • it can be done easily enough - I did Brighton and London 2 years ago and my London time was only 10 mins shy of my Brighton one

I used Brighton as the A race - went PB hunting but failed (hey ho) and planned to bimble around London with someone else.  by 9 miles my legs felt fine as we'd been taking it easy so I headed off at a slightly faster pace.  was fine.