A year to train for a marathon ...

There are lots of threads from people with a couple of weeks left to train for a marathon, but what advice would you give a running newbie who wants to target a Spring Marathon next year?

Comments

• That's good advice. Any numbers to put to that? How long and how slow should it be in comparison to your normal runs?

• good point david.... .your long run should always be done slowly and outdoors......

even at the start where your long run might be 6 miles and your other weekly runs 3 or 4 miles.......

make sure that longer run is low and then it will be easier to build it up slowly....

i would avoid all speedwork for the first few months until your body has got used to the new pattern of runs that you have.........whether that is 4 or 5 runs a week.......... get into the habit of fitting them in.......

• Is the newbie a total newbie xine?

if thats the case then the obvious one would be to build up super slow as the others have said.

probably target running 3/4 days a week with nice breaks in between (dont mean scoffing days etc)

might look like this:

Monday-2-3 miles slow

wednesday-2-3 miles slow

friday- yep you guessed slow 2-3

sunday-LSR of a gradual build up of 5 miles plus. (each week adding 2 miles etc)

this is probably the easiest way to a non injury start. Gives the legs a nice break in between

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

Start training!  image

I went from zero to marathon in 9 months fairly successfully but an extra 3 months would've been nice.  So based on my experience I would say it would be useful to pin the general training pattern on to a series of race goals.  That way you can break things up, build to increasing peaks in mileage with a target race, recover, and build back up again.  Maybe something like:

April - June/July: lots of easy running, build up to 20-25 mpw (3/4 x wk), try the odd parkrun.  Schedule 2 or 3 10ks over the summer, perhaps 3/4 weeks apart.  Maybe follow a structured 10k plan.