Paris Marathon 2013

Comments

• Yeah, I grabbed a couple of those little uns
  • yer majyer maj ✭✭✭
    Orbutt wrote (see)
    YM - breakfast, porridge and sports drink 2 hours before. 1 hour before, another sports drink.
    That's it.

I have found on my last couple of LSRs that adding a banana to my porridge made a huge difference to my energy levels - might be worth a try?

Mind you, I'm still pretty new to this fuelling lark - until my Paris training I used to train and race on tea and occasionally a banana.  Including Paris last year image

• At Reading, they had little softpacks of water that you could squirt jets into u mouth and share with other runners. Quite good, mind you all I needed to do there was open my mouth and the rain poured in
  • Orbutt - it's possible to scientifically calculate energy requirements, but without fancy lab stuff/ tests, you can make some guestimates that aren't so bad.

The average male body, well trained can store approx. 400g of carbs in muscles and the liver. Depending on energy burn rate, the majority of that will be burnt off with 90-120 mins of hard exercise (I think 150-180g of carbs an hour is a typical burn rate but doing all this from memory). The male body can typically absorb 60-90g of carbs an hour, IF those carbs are a mixture of fructose and sucrose (less are absorbed if only one sugar source).

So if you have a burn rate of about 175g an hour, and you can ingest 90g an hour, that gives a working deficit of 85g/hr. Each gel provides about 25-30g of carbs. If you run for 4 hours you burn 700g, starting with 400g, so a total deficit of 300g.

1 gel every half hour starting at 30 mins into the race and finishing 30 mins before you complete the race is 7x25=175g. This means you would finish the race with approx. 125g inside you, just enough buffer to ensure that you still get a good supply of carbs to your muscles.