Interval Training

Hi, im new to running.

I have been trying to encorporate intervals, into my training (I am training for the Hastings Half Marathon) as I have been told this is the best way to improve your speed, for long distance running.

I have been using mydigitalcoach, which has been brilliant, however I am struggling with how many times a week I should be doing interval training, as opposed to 'long distance' runs and at what stage in my training should I be doing interval training?

Help me please! image

Comments

• Are you following a training plan? how many days a week do you run? how far can you run on your long run? and what do you want to achieve, to get round running all the way, or to improve your time?

• If you are just starting out, or doing intervals for the first time, its generally best to keep to one session per week.

Intervals run at a fast pace can be tough on your body - more than you can sometimes tell at first - so its an idea to give yourself a few weeks to get used to the pounding before considering 2 sessions per week. Even then, your other session should maybe something like hill reps or shorter intervals.

As BR1an says though -  need more info on you as a runner to give proper advice!

• Katy - as a beginner, you shouldn't really be doing interval training. I was advised by a physio, who is also a running coach, that in your first year of running, you shouldn't try any speed work at all. It's quite tough on your legs so you need to have conditioned them first with lots of miles in order to prevent injury. I've read similar advice in a couple of books too, the essence being no speed work until you've had a year of running consistently 16-20 miles per week or have banked 300 miles.  Once you're at this level, you can start speed work with easier drills such as hill repeats or fartlek, once a week.