Pre Marathon Assesment

I'm doing my first marathon later this year.

I'm quite interested in getting a more bespoke training plan as I want to run a competitive time and I've seen Bupa do a run check which gives you various information such as clear running plan, various stretching and stability exercises and shoe and injury advice.

Currently I was looking at taking an 18week plan from the Advanced Marathoning book.

So, I was just wondering if anyone had any Pre-Marathon Assesements they would recommend around London? And what peoples general take on them is.

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Have you been running for long? My impression from your post was that you are about to start running, but I might be getting the wrong end of the stick.  

I wouldn't follow the Advanced marathoning plans if I was a beginner (i.e. running less than a year), or didn't have a few Half-Marathons under my belt.  If you've ran a couple of half-marathons, I can't see what the BUPA test would tell you that you don't already know?

• Cheers. no ive been running for a while. I did a half marathon last year in 1hr 22minutes. But thats the only one i've done.

Training for that was ok, struggled to stick to a plan, I tended just to do 8-11k runs and did 1 10mile a week before my race.

Thereofore, I had just been considering if it was worth a programme more specific for me than a general one from a book.

• Also-ranAlso-ran ✭✭✭

1'22" is a great time for your half, and properly trained you could be on for a good time. I'm not sure what you class as a competitive time though - it's all relative.

The Advanced Marathoning book is an excellent read, and even if you do not use their plans, it provides a lot of info to get you through a marathon campaign.  Last year was my 1st year of running - I used the 'knowledge' part of the book during my first marathon, and an approximation of one of their plans in my second (I tailored it a bit). I found it the best book out there