13 Days till My Big Day

Hi guys ive got my 1st half marathon on the 28th, training has gone ive managed to hit 13 miles last weekend which i completed in 1 hour 52 minutes. Since then ive did a 3 mile easy the day after that run. Then 10th i did a 6 mile speed work which i done in 50 minutes and on Friday i ran 10 miles with 5 hills in the route but completed it in 1 hour 25 minutes. Sunday i did speed work again so i ran 4 miles in 31.52 secs which was 7.54 min per mile. Today ive just done 3 mile easy again. I m planning to run half the marathon route tommorow to get a feel for it so may do 8 -10 mile in it. What i would like to know is what should i do from now till a week sunday regarding training and any ideas on what i could do to improve my diet from now till the race. Im a complete novice but hoping someone with a lot more experience can help me, thanks

Comments

• booktrunkbooktrunk ✭✭✭

Don't do to much!! you seem to have it all covered.  Anything within the last 2 weeks won't really improve you it will just wear you out, make sure you stay loose, but apart from that just relax and enjoy the building nerves.

Seriously it's 13.1 miles that's it... don't run to much of it tomorrow, but you've already done the long slow runs, seriously don't burn yourself out by overrunning now and not being ready on the day. 

I'm sure people that know a lot more then me will be able to give you advice on food, but it's only going to be less than 2 hours on your feet, so you don't need to go to an extreme change of diet.  Plus you've done 13 already what did you do then did you take any food or gels whilst running that? As it's only another 100m on top of that, did you feel that you were flagging and in need of any gels or anything?